Chip on Shoulder – Day 278

Image

I had a reaction within feeling under-appreciated at work. It’s happened before, and like before I generated an internal whining — pathetic really.. (and yup! there I am judging my reaction…) This most recent episode occurred when my dept. won a fairly prestigious design award and no memo went out, no email, no acknowledgement…
 
Memories
During my work life I have noticed that in the business world although the creative component is critical to the success of a product or service that the actual creative staff is not as valued as ‘important’ as  the strategists/number crunchers/MBA part of the company.  
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have internalized the opinions of others about the work I do so that I feel the need to prove myself as competent and worthy of their opinion.
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to want acknowledgement from the Big Boss that I do a good job and that my department does great work.

Thought Dimension
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to have the thought that the BB (Big Boss) is stupid for not acknowledging the creative contribution of my group.
I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to go into a polarity relationship with BB vacciliating between projections of inferiority and superiority.

Fear Dimension
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be afraid of being relegated to the ‘back burner’ and not included in strategic/creative decisions
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to be afraid of feeling marginalized and though I may say, “I don’t care” I have had feelings of being hurt within not feeling recognized for the creative contribution of the people I work with.

Feelings and Emotions Dimension
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to feel inferior to those in my work environment who are on the ‘business’ side within internalizing a feeling of marginalization as ‘creative’ being less than.
I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to feel anger for not getting enough recognition from the BB and from colleagues.

Back Chat Dimension
When I was just talking to BB I thought, “we live in two different worlds: you live in a this neighborhood, you’re telling me about your personal trainer and the 30″ inches of snow on your recent winter vacation in Vermont…do you have any idea how much I am making?”
I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to go into my ‘chip on shoulder’ character within feeling like I am not paid enough, valued enough and do not have the same perks as the elites and yet we both work the same amount and at the same place…
I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to be jealous because BB is probably making three to four times what I am. 

Imagination Dimension
I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to project and fantasize that I should have the same income that BB has if I am subject to all the same restrictions and expectations within my working life.

Consequence Dimension
I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to place stress on my physical body within having an emotional reaction to being ignored, to feeling superior/inferior and I forgive myself for accepting and allowing myself to once such thoughts come up, to not immediately stop them.

Join Journey to Life on facebook

and investigate this FREE online support DesteniIProcess

Leave a Reply

